Chester, CH1 1HB
Date opened: Saturday 19th June 1911.
Total seating capacity: (stalls & balcony) – 750 seats
Architects: Minshull & Muspratt Partnership
Date closed: Saturday 5th September 1931.
Facade extant. Auditorium demolished. Extension built on. Present use..Retail.
Few people know the whereabouts of this silent cinema. Amazingly the frontage can still be seen. It is nearly opposite Parker’s Buildings in Foregate Street.
Operated and managed by the Glynn Animated Picture Company. The name Glynn was the first name of one of it’s founders- Glynn Hill, the other partner of the company was G.E. Bulford.
The cinema was opened as the Glynn Picture Hall by the deputy mayor, R. C. Davies. The name was changed at a later date to the Glynn Picture House.
A small orchestra called the Hillman & Glynn provided the music for the silent screen. The auditorium was of a basic design having a corrugated tin sheet roof, seating 750 people.It was also the head office of the company. Their other cinemas were the Central Shrewsbury and the Glynn Wrexham. The first manager was Charles Powell.
In 1923 W E and J Taplin ran the hall. 1928 saw General Theatres take over. Eventually it was absorbed into the Gaumont British Theatres circuit.
The final manager Fred Rowley, transferred to the Gaumont Palace in Brook Street, as the Glynn was closed down by it’s new owners who had built the Gaumont. The cinema’s projectionist, Fred Dickenson, also transferred to the Gaumont Palace for it’s opening.
In its heyday, the Glynn was described as “A High Class Entertainment of Animated Pictures”. The final film shown was “Lure Of The South Seas” on 5th September 1931.
Just the frontage of this cinema survives.
Go to the history page to read the full account of this silent gem.
If you have any further information on the GLYNN, or know of anyone who was employed there, please contact us.